AMSA Talks

AMSA Talks are a 60 minute monthly online conversation between members of AMSA, each month with special guests and a designated subject.

When are AMSA Talks? Every second Tuesday at 9 AM Pacific, 10 AM Mountain, 11 AM Central, Noon Eastern. Zoom links are included in the monthly AMSA Newsletter sent to all members identified by their team leader.

If you are an AMSA member and not yet receiving the AMSA Newsletter, send us a note to get started.

All recordings of past AMSA Talks are available to AMSA members – in the MEMBERS section.


Isabelle Lanser

March 21, 2023 Topic: Mobile Crisis on University Campuses

University campuses could become leaders in developing alternatives to policing for managing public health and safety, yet, nearly all campuses rely on campus or local police to respond to mental health emergencies. Herein, we present the available evidence for campus mobile crisis intervention teams (MCITs) as an alternative to policing, consider what colleges and universities can learn from existing community MCIT models, and propose initial steps for the development and implementation of a campus MCIT.

Dr. Isabelle Lanser received her PhD in Clinical Psychology from UCLA in 2022, and currently a postdoctoral research fellow at the UCLA Anxiety and Depression Research Center.

READ – Reducing policing in mental health crises: A vision for university campuses, Journal of American College Health, Sept. 2021

*AMSA Talks are recorded and posted on the AMSA website in the members area. We will send you a reminder!


PAST AMSA TALKS

December 13, 2022 – Tiarra Dearbone and Samuel Wolff of Public Defender Association, Senior LEAD Project Managers for LEAD in Seattle.

October 11 РCh̩ Stedman is Assistant Chief of Medical Affairs for the Madison Fire Department and we talked DATA.

August 9 – Vera Institute of Justice and their Civilian Crisis Response: A Toolkit for Equitable Alternatives to Police

July 12 – Victoria Bautista, Legislative Aid for US Representative Adam Smith (WA-9) on FEDERAL FUNDING.

June 14 – Beverly Carrington of Chicago 911 and DISPATCH.

May 10 – Alana Silverman, Chief People Officer at Cascadia Behavioral Healthcare and their mobile team, Project Respond, AND Courtney Tassin, Program Manager of of the Aurora Mobile Response Team at City of Aurora, CO – talking RECRUITMENT

May 2022 – Elliott Jones of the Mobile Assistance Community Responders of Oakland (MACRO) – LAUNCH REPORT.